Summit League announces 2019 softball postseason honors

KELO The Summit League logo

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – The Summit League announced the 2019 All-Summit League Softball Teams and individual awards Wednesday night, with Summit League regular season champion North Dakota State sweeping the individual accolades through a vote of the League’s seven head coaches.

North Dakota State senior KK Leddy was selected as the Pitcher of the Year, while senior Katie Shoultz was selected as the Player of the Year. North Dakota State rookie Paige Vargas won the Freshman of the Year award with Darren Muller earning Coach of the Year honors.

Leddy was dominating in the circle for the Bison, leading her squad with 21 wins, including 10 in league play. She posted a league-best 1.85 ERA with 61 strikeouts to just 19 walks. In 32 appearances and 174.1 innings pitched she completed 20 games while also saving three. Leddy threw her first career no-hitter against South Dakota State back on April 14 and followed that start with a one-hitter against South Dakota the following weekend. During the 2019 season, she earned Summit League Pitcher of the Week honors four times and was named the female athlete of the month for the April.

Shoultz was a mainstay in the Bison lineup, starting all 47 games she played in. She posted a league-best .404 batting average with 59 hits, two doubles, two triples and 15 RBIs while also scoring 37 runs. On the base paths Shoultz found ways to put herself into scoring position, stealing a league high 24 bases during the year. The senior outfielder was perfect in the field with 54 putouts, four assists and zero errors. Shoultz was named The Summit League Player of the Week on March 18.

Vargas, a true freshman, came in and competed like an upperclassman for North Dakota State. She earned 14 wins, third best in The Summit League, in 23 appearances with one save. In 120.2 innings pitched, Vargas earned a 3.19 ERA with 96 strikeouts and a batting average against of .231. In Summit League action she started six games, posting a perfect 6-0 record in the circle with five complete games and a 1.69 ERA.

North Dakota State head coach Darren Mueller earned his sixth Summit League Coach of the Year honor in his career and first since 2015. Mueller led his squad to its eighth Summit League regular season title and seventh in the past eight seasons after posting a 14-2 league record. Between March 10 and April 14 Mueller had his squad hitting on all cylinders as the Bison won 20 consecutive games.

Leddy and Shoultz were named first-team All-Summit League performers and were joined on the 14 member squad by teammates, Maddie Hansen, Vanessa Anderson, Montana DeCamp, Madyson Camacho and Cara Beatty; Western Illinois’ Emily Ira; South Dakota’s Alyssa Fernandez, Jessica Rogers and Lauren Eamiguel; South Dakota State’s Megan Rushing and Kendra Conard; Purdue Fort Wayne’s Lauren Watson.

Vargas was named to the14 member Second Team All-Summit League Softball squad and is joined by South Dakota’s Alexis Devers, Camille Fowler, Dustie Durham, Jamie Holscher and Lauren Wobken; Western Illinois’ Meghan Henson and Jasmine Lara; South Dakota State’s Ali Herdliska, Baily Janssen and Yanney Ponce; Omaha’s Emma Dargy; North Dakota’s Kayleen Schneider and Jailene Carpio.

2019 All-Summit League Softball Teams and Individual Awards

(as selected by The Summit League head coaches)

Player of the Year: Katie Shoultz, North Dakota State

Pitcher of the Year: KK Leddy, North Dakota State

Freshman of the Year: Paige Vargas, North Dakota State

Coach of the Year: Darren Mueller, North Dakota State

First Team All-Summit League

P – KK Leddy, North Dakota State

P – Emily Ira, Western Illinois

C – Maddie Hansen, North Dakota State

1B – Vanessa Anderson, North Dakota State

2B – Alyssa Fernandez, South Dakota

3B – Megan Rushing, South Dakota State

SS – Montana DeCamp, North Dakota State

OF – Katie Shoultz, North Dakota State

OF – Lauren Watson, Purdue Fort Wayne

OF – Madyson Camacho, North Dakota State

DP – Cara Beatty, North Dakota State

P – Kendra Conard, South Dakota State

C – Jessica Rogers, South Dakota

SS – Lauren Eamiguel, South Dakota

Second Team All-Summit League

P – Alexis Devers, South Dakota

P – Paige Vargas, North Dakota State

C – Meghan Henson, Western Illinois

1B – Ali Herdliska, South Dakota State

2B – Baily Janssen, South Dakota State

3B – Emma Dargy, Omaha

SS – Yanney Ponce, South Dakota State

OF – Jasmine Lara, Western Illinois

OF – Camille Fowler, South Dakota

OF – Kayleen Schneider, North Dakota

DP – Dustie Durham, South Dakota

1B – Jamie Holscher, South Dakota

3B – Lauren Wobken, South Dakota

DP – Jailene Carpio, North Dakota

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


Don't Miss!

More Don't Miss

Our Contests

More Contests