O’Gorman, Sioux Falls Christian, Platte-Geddes win 2021 KELO Cups


SIOUX FALLS, S.D. (KELO) — With the conclusion of the spring sports season, the winners of the 2021 KELO Cup were determined.

In Class AA, O’Gorman ended Lincoln’s seven-year reign as the Knights’ Girls Golf Championship catapulted them ahead of the Patriots by 2 points.

In Class A, Sioux Falls Christian won its second consecutive KELO Cup. The Chargers tallied 42 points over the year, racking up eight state championships in that time.

In Class B, a runner-up finish at the Boys State Golf Tournament propelled Platte-Geddes past Wolsey-Wessington by 1 point, earning the Black Panthers their first KELO Cup.

The KELO Cup

Honoring athletic excellence in South Dakota.

The KELO Cup recognizes the champions and the championships of South Dakota high schools. Each school year, KELOLAND Sports will award the KELO Cup to three South Dakota high schools – one in each class AA, A and B. Since not all sports have three classes, schools will compete in the class in which they play basketball. 

Schools earn points with each first, second and third place finish in the state championship for each sport. First place is worth 5 points, second place is worth 2 points and third place is worth 1 point. If a third place finisher is not determined as in football, then no points will be awarded. The school with the most total points in its class wins the KELO Cup.

KELOLAND Sports will award the points and post the standings here and on the KELOLAND SportsZone. For questions on the points and the standings, please contact sports@keloland.com.

2021 Winners – Congratulations to O’Gorman winning Class AA, Sioux Falls Christian winning Class A and Platte-Geddes for Class B!

Past Winners:

2020: Lincoln wins Class AA, Sioux Falls Christian wins Class A, and Burke wins Class B!
2019: Lincoln wins Class AA, Tea Area wins Class A, and Deubrook wins Class B!
2018: Lincoln wins Class AA, St. Thomas More wins Class A, and Ipswich wins Class B!
2017: Lincoln wins Class AA, Madison wins Class A, Deubrook Area wins Class B!
2016: Lincoln wins Class AA, St. Thomas More wins Class A, and Ipswich wins Class B!
2015: Lincoln, St. Thomas More, and Ipswich!
2014: Lincoln, Madison, Warner, and Ipswich!
2013: Washington, Harrisburg, and Warner
2012: O’Gorman, Madison, White River, and Ipswich!

2021 KELO Cup Standings

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Continuing The Conversation
See Full Weather Forecast

Trending Stories

Don't Miss!

More Don't Miss