NSIC Swimming & Diving Championships – February 13th

KELO NSIC Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference logo

The 2019 NSIC Swimming & Diving Championships got underway with four event finals taking place on Wednesday night from the Midco Aquatic Center in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.  St. Cloud State leads after day one with 134 team points and holds a 23 point lead over the defending champs of Minnesota State (111). Three NSIC records were set in the four finals that took place on day one.

The top three finalists in each individual event and top two finalists in each relay event will be recognized as NSIC All-Conference during the meet.

In the 200 individual medley it was Northern State’s Hannah Kastigar winning in a time of 1:59.57. Her time set a new NSIC record, surpassing her own record of 2:01.07 set back in 2017.  Finishing second was MSU’s Lily Borgenheimer with a time of 2:03.55 while Lizzy Spaans of Sioux Falls was third in a time of 2:06.51.

St. Cloud State’s Chelsea Gehrke won the 50 freestyle in a time of 22.93, breaking the NSIC record previously held by Cheyenne Rove of Minnesota State (23.05 in 2017). Sioux Falls’ Cassandra Wright was second at 23.12 while Jen Thompson of St. Cloud State was third with a time of 23.13.

The University of Mary took two of the top three times in the 1000m freestyle.  Victoria Murillo won the event in a time of 10:17.20.  Augustana’s Taylor Beagle was second in a time of 10:21.55 while UMary’s Andrea Lee was third with a time of 10:21.77.

In the 200-medley relay both Minnesota State and St. Cloud State earned All-NSIC honors for finishing first and second. MSU won the event with an NSIC record time of 1:43.33 while SCSU came in with a time of 1:43.38. MSU’s team consisted of Brooke Miles, Lily Borgenheimer, Katie Streiff and Maggie Knier.  The SCSU team was comprised of Marena Kouba, Alexis Burroughs, Annie Hart and Jen Thompson. MSU set a new NSIC record in the event as it broke the 2017 MSU record of 1:43.35. 

The NSIC Swimming & Diving Championships continue through Saturday, Feb. 16. Seven NSIC teams will compete over four days for the NSIC Championship.

Thursday’s trial sessions will begin at 10 a.m. with the finals set for 6 p.m. Thursday will have the 200 freestyle relay, the 400 IM, the 100 butterfly, the 200 freestyle, the one-meter diving competition and the 400 medley relay.
The top three finalists in each individual event and top two finalists in each relay event will be recognized as NSIC All-Conference during the meet. A Swimmer of the Year, Diver of the Year, Freshman of Year, Swim Coach of the Year and Dive Coach of the Year will also be voted on by the coaches during the event. Finally, at the conclusion of the meet, the swimmer with the most points will be named the NSIC Swimmer of the Meet and the diver with the most points will be named NSIC Diver of the Meet.
For more information on the NSIC Swimming & Diving Championships, including daily schedules, ticket prices and links to results, visit the championship website at www.NorthernSun.org/NSICSD.

Women – Team Rankings – Day 1    

1. St. Cloud State 134
2. Minnesota State111
3. Augustana104
4. University of Mary92
5. Sioux Falls81
6. MSU Moorhead64
7. Northern State22


Courtesy: NSIC

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Continuing The Conversation
See Full Weather Forecast

Trending Stories

Don't Miss!

More Don't Miss