Augustana softball earns 3-seed in Central Regional

Vote for Viewer's Choice!

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (NSIC) — The NCAA Division II Softball Committee has selected the 64 teams that will participate in the 2019 NCAA Division II Softball Championship. Four teams will participate at each of 16 regional sites in double-elimination tournaments.

The NSIC will send four teams to the postseason as Winona State, St. Cloud State and Minnesota Duluth were granted at-large bids, while Augustana earned an automatic bid with its NSIC Tournament Championship.

Winona State earned the second seed and will host seventh seeded St. Cloud State in the first round.  Also in Winona, third seeded Augustana will take on sixth seeded Missouri Western.  Minnesota Duluth is the eighth seed and will take on top seeded Central Oklahoma in Edmond, Oklahoma.

The 42-team NCAA Central Region is made up of teams from the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference, the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) and the Great American Conference (GAC). Automatic bids are awarded to the tournament champions from each conference with the final five spots awarded on an at-large basis. In all, eight teams will advance to the NCAA Regional Tournament on May 9-11, with the top two seeds in the region hosting.

The NCAA Championships are set for May 23-27 at Regency Athletic Complex hosted by Metro State University of Denver.


Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

NBA Stats

Continuing The Conversation

Trending Stories

Don't Miss!

More Don't Miss


More Contests