Ten finalists announced for the 2020 Player of the Year awards

All Star

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. (KELO)- The past five days, KELO-TV has revealed the ten finalists for the Sanford Pentagon/KELOLAND Media Group player of the year award.

The ten finalists were announced two each day, during the KELOLAND News at 6:00 p.m. starting on Sunday, April 12.

2020 Player of the Year Finalists

Girl’s FinalistsBoy’s Finalists
Avery Broughton- Corsica/StickneyPaul Bruns- Dakota Valley
Emma Ronsiek- O’GormanMax Nielson- Sioux Valley
Morgan Hansen- Sioux Falls LincolnMatthew Mors- Yankton
Madysen Vlastuin- LennoxZach Witte- Sioux Falls Christian
Kyah Watson- Rapid City StevensRyder Kirsch- St. Thomas More

The Sanford Pentagon/KELOLAND Media Group All-Star Banquet was set for their fourth year as Kansas Jayhawk men’s basketball coach, Bill Self, was set to the be the main speaker.

The COVID-19 pandemic has forced the two organizations to cancel the 2020 banquet.

This year, the Sanford Pentagon/KELOLAND Media Group Player of the Year award will be announced during a KELOLAND special that will air on KELO-TV at 6:30 p.m. on Friday, April 17.

KELOLAND’s Travis Fossing and Sean Bower have created a feature story on each of the finalists that can be seen on the KELOLAND Sports Page.

This year’s winners will join a list of six other former winners, all of which have gone on to play at the collegiate level.

Past Player of the Year Winners

YearBoy’s WinnerGirl’s Winner
2019Noah Freidel- SDSUKarly Gustafson- Dordt
2018A.J. Plitzuweit- Augustana (2019) USD (2020)Paiton Burckhard- SDSU
2017Ethan Freidel- Mount MartyMyah Selland- SDSU

The Sanford Pentagon/ KELOLAND Media Group All-Star special can be seen on KELO-TV or streamed online here. The show will start at 6:30 p.m.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Continuing The Conversation
See Full Weather Forecast

Trending Stories

Don't Miss!

More Don't Miss