2019 NSIC softball all-conference teams and awards

KELO NSIC Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference logo

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. (NSIC) — Here are the 2019 NSIC all-conference teams and awards.

NSIC Player of the Year
#17 Lani Van Zyl (SS, Sr., L/R, Fort. Dodge, Iowa / Fort Dodge HS)
 Winona State University

– Named NSIC Player of the Year for the second straight season
– First-ever two-time NSIC Player of the Year in Warrior history
– On pace to break her own WSU single-season batting average record (.484)
– Led the NSIC in average, OBP (.545), ranked second in hits (75), third in slugging (.781) and doubles (16)
– Hit .696 (16-for-23) with six homers and 13 RBI over the final eight games to help WSU finish perfect 30-0 regular season
– Ranks ninth in Division II in hits, 11th in average and 14th in total bases (121)
NSIC Pitcher of the Year
#3 Jordyn Kleman (RHP, Jr., R/R, LaCrosse, Wis. / Logan HS)
Winona State University

– Named NSIC Pitcher of the Year for the second straight season
– Second Warrior to earn NSIC Pitcher of the Year twice in Warrior career (Cyndy Schubbe – 2001 & 2002)
– Named the NSIC Pitcher of the Week five times in 2019
– Has thrown two no-hitters in 2019 (seven in her career)
– Leads NSIC in wins (24), opponent batting average (.165), ranks third in ERA (1.59) and Ks (183)
– Win total ranks fourth in Division II and she ranks 10th in the country in hits allowed/7-inn. (4.01)
NSIC Freshman of the Year
#30 Mary Pardo (OF, Fr., R/R, Andover, Minn. / Blaine HS)
Augustana University

– Playing and starting all 30 conference games, finished the year with nine home runs, four doubles, and 27 RBI
– Led the NSIC with four triples and was ninth overall with a .750 slugging percentage
– Finished with 36 hits in conference play for a .360 average
– Finished the regular season with 13 home runs, which is third in the NSIC
– Ranked top-10 in RBI (37) slugging percentage (.685) and runs scored (55)
– Her 18 walks and 22 stolen bases are also second on the team
NSIC Newcomer of the Year
#14 Liz Pautz (RHP, So., Pulaski, Wis. / Pulaski HS / UW-Green Bay)
Winona State University

– Posted a 17-2 record with a 0.74 ERA and 185 strikeouts over 122.1 IP
– Two losses were 1-0 defeats to regionally-ranked teams
– Leads all Division II players in K/7-inn. (10.6) and ranks second in the country in ERA
– Led NSIC in ERA, ranked second in Ks and third in opponent batting average (.185)
– Recorded six double-digit strikeout outings and 17 appearances with zero earned runs
NSIC Coach of the Year
Greg Jones
Winona State University

– Guided Winona State to the first 30-0 record in NSIC history
– The 30 wins are an NSIC record for wins in a season during NSIC play
– Named NSIC Coach of the Year for the second straight year and fourth time in his career
– Led WSU to back-to-back regular season titles for the first time in program history
– Career record of 792-261 in 19 seasons at Winona State
– Has guided WSU to each of its 13 40-win seasons


2019 All-Conference First Team
8Sam Eisenreich2BSr.AugustanaSt. Cloud, Minn.
50Amber ElliottRHPSo.AugustanaRamsey, Minn
42Maggie KadrlikUTSr.AugustanaInver Grove Heights, Minn.
6Kara McDougallOFJr.AugustanaBrookings, S.D.
26Ashley MickschlP/USo.AugustanaWoodbury, Minn.
9Shannon PetersenCSr.AugustanaEdina, Minn.
20Carlie HartOFSr.Concordia-St. PaulLake Elmo, Minn.
12Justine Schattner3BSr.Concordia-St. PaulTwin Lakes, Wis.
24Bailey JohnsonOFSo.SMSUMount Pleasant, Iowa
19Kennady Thompson1BJr.Northern StateOmaha, Neb.
3Jordyn Kleman RHPJr. Winona StateLa Crosse, Wis.
24Alexis Kelsey1BJr. Winona StateCedar Rapids, Iowa
11Ali NowakDPJr.Winona StateNew Berlin, Wis.
14Liz PautzRHPSo.Winona StatePulaski, Wis.
21Ann Smolenski3BSo.Winona StateLynn Center, Ill.
17Lani Van ZylSSSr.Winona StateFort Dodge, Iowa
2019 All-Conference Second Team
20Kendall CornickOFJr.AugustanaMason City, Iowa
28Maggie Dunnett3BSr.AugustanaLakeville, Minn.
30Mary PardoOFFr.AugustanaAndover, Minn.
16Olivia WoltersRHPJr.AugustanaElk River, Minn.
6Jessica BurlingameOFSr.Bemidji StateAndover, Minn.
22Lauren OberleSSJr.Minnesota DuluthEden Prairie, Minn.
26Breanna SwintRHPJr.Minnesota DuluthMarysville, Calif.
15Cori KennedyUTSr.Minnesota StateWest Concord, Minn.
4McKenzie PaapOFSr.Minnesota StateExcelsior, Minn.
22Karlee Coughlin3BJr.Minot StateLive Oak, Calif.
14Lauren CowdenOFSr.Minot StateMoorpark Calif.
23Brooke BowlinOFSo.St. Cloud StateChaska, Minn.
14Megan ConradsUTSo.St. Cloud StateLakeville, Minn.
18Jasmin EstradaDPFr.St. Cloud StateLitchfield, Minn.
10Maya Keating2BJr.St. Cloud StateWheaton, Ill.
22Kate KopeckRHPSr.St. Cloud StateLumsen, Sask.
9Emily Miller3BSr.Sioux FallsAberdeen, S.D.
4Katie Crogan1BSo.Upper IowaWatertown, Wis.
16Emily Chandler1BSr.Wayne StateSimi Valley, Calif.
23Taylor MenardOFSr.Wayne StateAurora, Colo.
2019 NSIC Gold Glove Team
26Ashley MickschlPSo.AugustanaWoodbury, Minn.
7Morgan EmmansCSr.SCSUBlaine, Minn.
4Katie Crogan1BSo.Upper IowaWatertown, Wis.
18Taylor Koehnen2BSo.Minnesota DuluthNew Prague, Minn.
21Ann Smolenski3BSo.Winona StateLynn Center, Ill.
17Lani Van ZylSSSr.Winona StateFort Dodge, Iowa
23Brooke BowlinLFSo.St. Cloud StateChaska, Minn.
20Carlie HartCFSr.Concordia-St. PaulLake Elmo, Minn.
30Mary PardoRFFr.AugustanaBlaine, Minn.


Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Continuing The Conversation
See Full Weather Forecast

Trending Stories

Don't Miss!

More Don't Miss