Third presidential disaster declaration approved for South Dakota

Local News

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. (KELO) – President Donald Trump has approved South Dakota’s third request for a presidential disaster declaration.

Federal money from this one will cover damage caused by storms, tornadoes and flooding that happened from the end of June to mid-July.

Damage from those storms in six counties and two reservations comes in at an estimated $2.5 million.

FEMA officials are currently in South Dakota working on the first two federal disaster declarations and will continue to work on the third.

Areas to receive federal help include:

  • Butte County
  • Gregory County
  • Kingsbury County
  • Lawrence County
  • Meade County
  • Tripp County
  • Cheyenne River Indian Reservation
  • Lower Brule Indian Reservation

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Continuing The Conversation

Trending Stories

Don't Miss!

More Don't Miss

Flooding Resources


More Contests