SIOUX FALLS, S.D. (KELO) — Results for the Sioux Falls School Board election are now final.

With 100% of the ballots counted, Dawn Marie Johnson will be joining the SF School Board. Johnson received 5,405 votes and Brian Mattson received 2,226 votes. Nicholas Zachariasen, who stopped his campaign but still appeared on the ballot, received 20 votes.

“I am deeply honored and grateful for the support and trust people have shown by electing me to the Sioux Falls School District School Board,” Johnson said in an emailed statement. “This victory is not only mine. It is a victory shared with many. As the first woman of color to serve on the Sioux Falls School Board the weight and significance of that achievement is not lost on me. I am committed to working hard to fulfill the responsibilities that come with this position.”

Johnson replaces Cynthia Mickelson on the school board and will serve a three-year term that will end in 2026. There were 7,651 total votes cast and the Sioux Falls School District says there were a total of 123,885 registered voters in the school district.

Voter turnout was listed at 6.16%, higher than the 5% in 2021.

Tory Stolen, a spokesman with the Sioux Falls School District says the end of Johnson’s three-year term will match up with city of Sioux Falls elections in 2026.

After the 2026 election, future school board elections will coincide with statewide primary and general elections.