Governor Closes 39 State Government Offices In 39 Counties

Local News
KELO Kristi Noem 2

Gov. Kristi Noem has ordered the closure of state government offices in 39 central and western counties Wednesday due to expected severe winter weather conditions.
All of the counties included are either part of a blizzard warning or a winter storm warning issued by the National Weather Service or where there is a high probability of ice and winds.

The counties are: Beadle, Bennett, Brown, Brule, Buffalo, Butte, Campbell, Charles Mix, Corson, Custer, Dewey, Edmunds, Fall River, Faulk, Gregory, Haakon, Hand, Harding, Hughes, Hyde, Jackson, Jerauld, Jones, Lawrence, Lyman, McPherson, Meade, Mellette, Oglala Lakota, Pennington, Perkins, Potter, Spink, Stanley, Sully, Tripp, Todd, Walworth and Ziebach, 
Only essential personnel within state offices in those counties should report to their work stations.

Gov. Noem also posted a Facebook Live on Tuesday night at the Capitol warning the public about the upcoming storm. You can see her message below. 

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Continuing The Conversation
See Full Weather Forecast

Trending Stories

Don't Miss!

More Don't Miss
More Contests