Damage assessments to be done in 58 South Dakota counties, 7 tribal reservations

Local News

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. (KELO) — South Dakota Governor Kristi Noem is asking FEMA to join state and local teams in assessing damage to public property following a severe winter, spring rains and flooding. 

The preliminary damage assessment process will look at the severity of damage to public infrastructures in 58 counties and seven tribal reservations.

Aurora, Beadle, Bennett, Bon Homme, Brookings, Brown, Brule, Buffalo, Campbell, Charles Mix, Clark, Clay, Codington, Davison, Day, Deuel, Dewey, Douglas, Edmunds, Fall River, Faulk, Grant, Gregory, Hamlin, Hand, Hanson, Hughes, Hutchinson, Hyde, Jackson, Jerauld, Jones, Kingsbury, Lake, Lincoln, Lyman, Marshall, McCook, McPherson, Mellette, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Oglala Lakota, Pennington, Perkins, Potter, Roberts, Sanborn, Spink, Sully, Todd, Tripp, Turner, Union, Walworth, Yankton, Ziebach which also includes the Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe; Crow Creek Sioux Tribe, Lower Brule Sioux Tribe, Oglala Sioux Tribe, Rosebud Sioux Tribe, Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate, and the Yankton Sioux Tribe.  

The assessments will start on Monday, May 13.  The work is expected to continue through the week.  

Noem says information gathereed will help determine whether federal assistance should be requested.  

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Flooding Resources


Don't Miss!

More Don't Miss

Our Contests