How South Dakota Legislators Voted On Horse-Racing Subsidy


SB 128 providing $120,000 to the Gaming Commission in support of South Dakota horse races won approval March 12, the second-to-last day of the main run of the 2019 legislative session.

As of Tuesday morning, Governor Kristi Noem hadn’t indicated yet whether she wants it to become law or would veto it. SB128 wasn’t among 10 bills she announced she had signed into law.

The Legislature returns March 29 to consider any vetoes she might issue. A two-thirds majority is needed in each chamber to override a veto. That’s 24 in the Senate and 47 in the House.

Noem is two-for-two on vetoes this year, but 128 had enough votes for an override.

The Senate roll call on 128 was 28-6 in favor:

Yes – Rocky Blare, R-Ideal. Jim Bolin, R-Canton. Gary Cammack, R-Union Center. Justin Cronin, R-Gettysburg. Bob Ewing, R-Spearfish. Brock Greenfield, R-Clark. Troy Heinert, D-Mission. Joshua Klumb, R-Mount Vernon. Jack Kolbeck, R-Sioux Falls. Kris Langer, R-Dell Rapids. Ryan Maher, R-Isabel. Jeff Monroe, R-Pierre. Reynold Nesiba, D-Sioux Falls. Al Novstrup, R-Aberdeen. Jeff Partridge, R-Rapid City. Art Rusch, R-Vermillion. V.J. Smith, R-Brookings. Deb Soholt, R-Sioux Falls. Alan Solano, R-Rapid City. Jim Stalzer, R-Sioux Falls. Wayne Steinhauer, R-Hartford. Margaret Sutton, R-Sioux Falls. Jim White, R-Huron. John Wiik, R-Big Stone City. Susan Wismer, D-Britton. Jordan Youngberg, R-Madison.

No – Lynne DiSanto, R-Box Elder. Phil Jensen, R-Rapid City. Craig Kennedy, D-Yankton. Stace Nelson, R-Fulton. Ernie Otten, R-Tea. Lance Russell, R-Hot Springs. 

Excused – Blake Curd, R-Sioux Falls. Red Dawn Foster, D-Pine Ridge. Lee Schoenbeck, R-Watertown. 

The House roll call on 128 was 50-12 in favor:

Yes – David Anderson, R-Hudson. Hugh Bartels, R-Watertown. Doug Barthel, R-Sioux Falls. Arch Beal, R-Sioux Falls. Scyller Borglum, R-Rapid City. Thomas Brunner, R-Nisland. Kirk Chaffee, R-Whitewood. Roger Chase, R-Huron. Drew Dennert, R-Aberdeen. Michael Diedrich, R-Rapid City. Mary Duvall, R-Pierre. Caleb Finck, R-Tripp. Bob Glanzer, R-Huron. Tim Goodwin, R-Rapid City. Spencer Gosch, R-Glenham. Lana Greenfield, R-Doland. Dayle Hammock, R-Spearfish. Erin Healy, D-Sioux Falls. Taffy Howard, R-Rapid City. Jean Hunhoff, R-Yankton. Kevin Jensen, R-Canton. David Johnson, R-Rapid City. Chris Karr, R-Sioux Falls. Lance Koth, R-Mitchell. John Lake, R-Gettysburg. Oren Lesmeister, D-Parade. Steve Livermont, R-Martin. Sam Marty, R-Prairie City. Steve McCleerey, D-Sisseton. Paul Miskimins, R-Mitchell. Tina Mulally, R-Rapid City. Herman Otten, R-Lennox. Carl Perry, R-Aberdeen. Kent Peterson, R-Salem. Tom Pischke, R-Dell Rapids. Doug Post, R-Volga. Lee Qualm, R-Platte. Nancy Rasmussen, R-Hurley. Tim Reed, R-Brookings. Rebecca Reimer, R-Chamberlain. Tim Rounds, R-Pierre. Kyle Schoenfish, R-Scotland. Jamie Smith, D-Sioux Falls. Tamara St. John, R-Sisseton. Manny Steele, R-Sioux Falls. Kaleb Weis, R-Aberdeen. Marli Wiese, R-Madison. Mark Willadsen, R-Sioux Falls. Nancy York, R-Watertown. Larry Zikmund, R-Sioux Falls.

No – Ryan Cwach, D-Yankton. Linda Duba, D-Sioux Falls. Randy Gross, R-Elkton. Jon Hansen, R-Dell Rapids. Steven Haugaard, R-Sioux Falls. Chris Johnson, R-Rapid City. Isaac Latterell, R-Tea. John Mills, R-Volga. Sue Peterson, R-Sioux Falls. Tony Randolph, R-Rapid City.  Ray Ring, D-Vermillion. Kelly Sullivan, D-Sioux Falls.

Excused – Shawn Bordeaux, D-Mission. Fred Deutsch, R-Florence. Julie Frye-Mueller, R-Rapid City.  Timothy Johns, R-Lead. Rhonda Milstead, R-Sioux Falls. Jess Olson, R-Rapid City. Peri Pourier, D-Pine Ridge. Michael Saba, D-Hartford. 

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Continuing The Conversation
See Full Weather Forecast

Trending Stories

Don't Miss!

More Don't Miss