Election Results Not Expected Until 9:45 p.m. CDT After Final Pennington County Precinct Closes


Computer glitches at polling locations across the state will cause a delay in election results. 

Three polling stations in Pennington County will stay open as late as 8:45 p.m. MDT.  The South Dakota Secretary of State’s office cannot release any results until the final precinct is closed, which would be 9:45 p.m. CDT. Polls were originally scheduled to open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. local time. 

Pennington County released an updated list of poll closure times on Tuesday afternoon. The state also announced Hughes County polls will stay open after 7 p.m. with the latest precinct staying open until 7:20 p.m. CDT. 

Early afternoon on Tuesday, the South Dakota Secretary of State’s office said eight counties that use electronic pollbooks had trouble with the technology Tuesday morning.  

These counties experienced sporadic loss of connectivity with the pollbooks.  Some had to switch to using paper voter registration lists and pollbooks.  Others were able to resolve the issues with the vendor. 

The eight counties include:  Brookings, Brown, Hughes, Hyde, Pennington, Potter, Sully and Yankton. Each polling location must stay open for a minimum of 12 hours. 

This is a developing story. 

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Continuing The Conversation
See Full Weather Forecast

Trending Stories

Don't Miss!

More Don't Miss