Winners of South Dakota legislative primaries

Capitol News Bureau

PIERRE, S.D. (KELO) — Here are Tuesday’s winners in party primary elections for nominations to the South Dakota Legislature.

Senate contests:

District 6 Republican — Rep. Herman Otten of Lennox defeated Rep. Isaac Latterall of Tea 1,491-941.

District 14 Republican — With nine precincts partially reported of 10 total, Rep. Larry Zikmund of Sioux Falls led David Zellmer of Sioux Falls 675-361.

District 17 Republican — Sen. Art Rusch of Vermillion defeated Rep. Nancy Rasmussen of Hurley 1,002-996. The result is within the margin for a possible recount.

District 21 Republican — Erin Tobin of Winner defeated House Republican leader Lee Qualm of Platte 2,155-1,366.

District 23 Republican — Bryan Breitling of Miller defeated Larry Nielson of Tulare 2,215-1,769.

District 29 Republican — Sen. Gary Cammack of Union Center defeated Terri Jorgenson of Rapid City 2,153-1,495.

District 30 Republican — Rep. Julie Frye-Mueller of Rapid City defeated George Kotti of Hot Springs 2,477-2,197.

District 31 Republican — Rep. Timothy Johns of Lead defeated John Teupel of Spearfish 2,020-1,423.

District 33 Republican — Rep. David Johnson of Rapid City defeated Janet Jensen of Rapid City 2,264-1,807.

District 35 Republican — Sen. Jessica Castleberry of Rapid City defeated Kevin Quick of Rapid City 1,442-551.

House contests (two seats unless otherwise noted), winners marked with asterisks:

District 5 Republicans — Rep. Hugh Bartels* of Watertown 1,802. Rep. Nancy York* of Watertown 1,688. Jacob Sigurdson of Watertown 773.

District 6 Republicans — Sen. Ernie Otten* of Tea 1,551. Aaron Aylward* of Harrisburg 1,100. Nathan Block of Tea 1,065. Thomas Werner of Sioux Falls 384. The result is within the margin for a possible recount.

District 7 Republicans — Rep. Tim Reed* of Brookings 1,205. Larry Tidemann* of Brookings 977. Rep. Doug Post of Volga 764.

District 9 Republicans — With seven precincts partially reported of nine total, Rep. Rhonda Milstead of Hartford 468; Michael Clark of Hartford 276; Bethany Soye of Sioux Falls 156.

District 12 Republicans — With four precincts reported and seven partially reported of 12 total, Greg Jamison of Sioux Falls 1,091; Rep. Arch Beal of Sioux Falls 938; Amy Miller of Sioux Falls 413; George Hendrickson 219.

District 14 Republicans — With nine precincts partially reported of 10 total, Taylor Rae Rehfeldt of Sioux Falls 632; Tom Holmes of Sioux Falls 564; Brad Lindwurm of Sioux Falls 405.

District 16 Republicans — Rep. Kevin Jensen* of Canton 1,444. Rep. David Anderson* of Hudson 1,257. Bill Shorma of Dakota Dunes 1,072.

District 17 Republicans — Sydney Davis* of Burbank 1,272. Richard Vasgaard* of Centerville 844. Dan Werner of Dolton 501. Charles Kludt of Viborg 482.

District 19 Republicans — Rep. Kent Peterson* of Salem 1,881. Jessica Bahmuller* of Alexandria 1,741. Rep. Marty Overweg of New Holland 1,720. Result is within margin for possible recount.

District 20 Republicans — Rep. Lance Koth* of Mitchell 1,755. Rep. Paul Miskimins* of Mitchell 1,535. Barry Volk of Mitchell 1,129.

District 23 Republicans — Rep. Spencer Gosch* of Glenham 3,107. Charlie Hoffman* of Eureka 2,709. Rep. James Wangsness of Miller 1,072. Kevin Watts of Miller 755.

District 24 Republicans — Will Mortenson* of Pierre 2,824. Mike Weisgram* of Fort Pierre 2,549. Sen. Jeff Monroe of Pierre 1,516. Noel Chicoine of Pierre 1,158. Bob Lowery of Pierre 633.

District 26A Democrat — Rep. Shawn Bordeaux* of Mission 570. Alexa Frederick of Winner 403.

District 28A Democrat — Rep. Oren Lesmeister* of Parade 737. Dean Schrempp of Lantry 255.

District 29 Republicans — Dean Wink* of Howes 2,014. Rep. Kirk Chaffee* of Whitewood 1,747. Rep. Thomas Brunner of Nisland 1,652. Lincoln Shuck of Union Center 990.

District 30 Republicans –Rep. Tim Goodwin* of Rapid City 3,488. Trish Ladner* of Hot Springs 1,438. Florence Thompson of Caputa 1,375. Kwinn Neff of Hill City 1,358. Result with margin for possible recount.

District 31 Republicans — Scott Odenbach* of Spearfish 1,871. Mary Fitzgerald* of Spearfish 1,362. Brandon Flanagan of Spearfish 1,226. Rep. Dayle Hammock of Spearfish 935. Julie Ann Olson of Spearfish 805.

District 33 Republicans — Rep. Taffy Howard* of Rapid City 2,831. Sen. Phil Jensen* of Rapid City 2,297. Melanie Torno of Summerset 1,620.

District 34 Republicans — Mike Derby* of Rapid City 2,194. Rep. Jess Olson* of Rapid City 1,899. Jodie Frye of Rapid City 1,421.

NOTE: County- and precinct-level results can be found at the South Dakota Secretary of State website. The link is at the top-left corner of the page.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Continuing The Conversation

Trending Stories

Don't Miss!

More Don't Miss


More Contests