A task force on teen driving safety is recommending that the South Dakota Legislature prohibit young drivers from using cell phones while behind the wheel.
The panel also is recommending that young drivers with learners' permits wait a little longer to get licenses that let them drive alone. Another recommendation is to set statewide standards for drivers' education courses and instructors, although young drivers still would not be required to take the course.
South Dakota allows 14-year-olds to get learners' permits, the youngest age in the nation for driving while accompanied by an adult. They can soon move to restricted permits that let them drive alone in the daytime.
The South Dakota Legislature will consider the task force's recommendation when lawmakers convene in January.
Most Popular Today
Bridgestone-Firestone Recalls Over 36,000 Truck Tires
Single Building Permit Sets Annual Record In Yankton County
Damaged iPhones Can Be Traded For Credit
Bids For Aberdeen's New Public Library Come In At About $6M
Friday Morning Business Brief