Colorado residents rang in the New Year with a big change. A new law now allows people to purchase marijuana for recreational purposes.
Colorado became the first state to sell small amounts of pot for recreational use on Wednesday.
It costs around $100 for a quarter-ounce. The state's legislature estimates the sale of marijuana will bring in between $5 million and $22 million in sales tax this year.
Under the new law, you must be 21 years old to legally buy up to an ounce of pot and it can not be smoked in public places.
"Lawmakers and voters around the country are watching what's happening here and they are very interested in following the lead and taking similar action and adopting similar laws and I am confident that these businesses will perform and will be a good example of how we can regulate marijuana," Co-Director of the Marijuana Policy Project Mason Avert said.
Washington State has also legalized recreational pot and its industry opens this summer.