How does South Dakota's proposed texting with driving ban compare to other states? We did some checking.
According to a CBS report, South Dakota's $100 fine is slightly less than what you'll pay if you're caught texting and driving in Minnesota. Our neighboring state’s fine is $135.
The $100 fine is the same price as North Dakota’s law, but half of what you'll pay in Nebraska. The Cornhusker state has a $200 fine.
While in Iowa, you’ll only pay $30 if caught texting while driving.
The nation's highest fine is in Alaska, where drivers who are caught texting can face a $10,000 fine.