User uShare Login | Register

Along with posting photos, videos, and stories, your uShare account lets you post Classified Ads, recipes on What's For Dinner, and Announcements.

74° View Weather Current Conditions Sioux Falls Change Location
Set Weather Options




[0] My Saved Articles
NY Mets
Los Angeles
LA Angels
Updated: Aug 23, 2014 12:43AM
Find local businesses
on the KELO Pages!


CFB: Zenner & Witzmann Named Top 50

January 15, 2014, 10:44 PM

CFB: Zenner & Witzmann Named Top 50

South Dakota State University running back Zach Zenner and offensive tackle Bryan Witzmann have been named to the College Sporting News 2013 Fabulous Fifty FCS All-America Team.

Zenner, a junior from Eagan, Minn., became only the second player in FCS history to rush for 2,000 yards in two different seasons, tallying 2,015 yards on a school-record 351 carries (5.7 ypc) in 2013. Zenner’s rushing total ranked second among FCS backs, while his 23 rushing touchdowns were fourth. He crossed the 100-yard mark in 12 of 14 games and surpassed the 200-yard mark three times, including tying his own school record with 295 yards Sept. 7 at North Dakota.

The Fabulous Fifty award marks the fifth different All-America team to which Zenner has been selected following the 2013 season. He also was a first-team selection by the Sports Network, Associated Press, Walter Camp Football Foundation and the American Football Coaches Association.

Witzmann wrapped up his Jackrabbit career by earning All-America honors for the second year in a row. A senior from Houlton, Wis., Witzmann helped pave the way for Zenner and a Jackrabbit offense that averaged 28.9 points and 384.6 yards of total offense per game. Witzmann started every game during his four-year career with the Jackrabbits, putting together a school-record string of 49 consecutive starts.

He also was a first-team All-America selection by the Sports Network and second-team honoree by the Associated Press this season.

The Roy Kidd FCS Coach of the Year Award: Craig Bohl, North Dakota State
The Adrian "AP" Peterson FCS Offensive Player of the Year Award: Jimmy Garoppolo, QB, Eastern Illinois
The James "Boomer" Grigsby FCS Defensive Player of the Year Award: Brad Daly, DE, Montana State
Offensive Lineman Of The Year: Billy Turner, OT, North Dakota State
Special Teams Player Of The Year: Xavier Roberson, KR, Southeastern Louisiana
Freshman Of The Year: Cooper Kupp, WR, Eastern Washington
Playoff MVP: Brock Jensen, QB, North Dakota State

QB Michael Nebrich, Fordham

QB Vernon Adams, Eastern Washington

RB Terrance West, Towson

RB Zach Zenner, South Dakota State

RB DaMarcus James, Jacksonville State

RB Lorenzo Taliaferro, Coastal Carolina

FB Andrew Grothmann, North Dakota State

AP Jerrick McKinnon, Georgia Southern

OC Tristan Bellamy, South Carolina State

OG Dakota Dozier, Furman 

OG Collin Seibert, Eastern Illinois

OT Eric Pike, Towson

OT Bryan Witzmann, South Dakota State

OL Chris Elkins, Youngstown State

OL Arinze Agada, McNeese State

TE MyCole Pruitt, Southern Illinois

TE Jeff LePak, Eastern Illinois

WR Erik Lora, Eastern Illinois

WR Lee Kurfis, Lehigh

WR Sam Ajala, Fordham

WR Jeremy Butler, UT Martin



DT Sullivan Grosz, Cal Poly

DT Caraun Reid, Princeton

DE Terrence Fede, Marist

DE Davis Tull, UT Chattanooga

DL Zach Kerr, Delaware

DL Colton Underwood, Illinois State

LB Stephon Robertson, James Madison

LB Justin Shade, Samford

LB Quinn Backus, Coastal Carolina

LB Jordan Tripp, Montana

LB Cqulin Hubert, Southeast Louisiana

LB Grant Olson, North Dakota State

CB Marcus Williams, North Dakota State

CB T.J. Lee III, Eastern Washington

DB Jerome Couplin III, William & Mary

DB Jaquiski Tartt, Samford

S Caleb Schaffitzel, Missouri State

S Daniel Fitzpatrick, Tennessee State


K Griffin Thomas, Jacksonville State

P Kyle Loomis, Portland State

KR Adrian Wilkins, North Carolina Central

PR Torrance Williams, Sam Houston State

LS Richard Wright, Liberty


COACH Jack Cosgrove, Maine

QB Quinn Epperly, Princeton

RB DaMarcus James, Jacksonville State

RB DJ Adams, Portland State 

AP Fabian Truss, Samford

C Edmond Davis, Alabama State

OG Jamey Cheatwood, Coastal Carolina

TE Dan Light, Fordham

WR Kenny Cook, Gardner Webb

WR Lee Doss, Southern

WR R.J. Harris, New Hampshire

WR Roman Wilson, Princeton

WR Tre McBride, William & Mary

DB Jacob Hagen, Liberty

DB Lucky Dozier, Northern Arizona

DL Shaquille Riddick, Gardner-Webb

DL Zach Hodges, Harvard

DL Mike Reilly, William & Mary

DL Troy Moore, Sacred Heart

DL Zach Hodges, Harvard

LB Joe Thomas, SC State

LB Lynden Trail, Norfolk State

LB Tyler Starr, South Dakota

PR Tavoris Doss, Alcorn State 

P  Eric Enderson, Delaware

KR Xavier Roberson, Southeastern Louisiana

Courtesy: Jason Hove, Assistant AD-Sports Information, South Dakota State University

Previous Story

Next Story

Find Local Businesses on KELO Pages!

View sports

You may also like

Vikings Adding $19M To Stadium Project

8/22/2014 9:42 AM

The Minnesota Vikings say they're adding another $19.7 million to their contribution to a new stadium to make sure it has the features they want.

Full Story
Dirt-Track Crew Chief Bonzai Bruns

8/18/2014 10:45 PM

More than two decades ago, Dean "Bonzai" Bruns was laid off from his job in construction, opted to go on-the-road as a dirt-track mechanic, ...

Full Story | Watch
HSFB: Howard's Loudenburg Looks To Make History

8/20/2014 10:50 PM

Howard senior Luke Loudenburg enters his senior season with over four-thousand career rushing yards and 55 touchdowns.

Full Story | Watch
SDSU Unveils Hall Of Fame Class

8/20/2014 4:37 PM

South Dakota State University student-athletes who were honored as national champions, All-Americans and NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship recipients make...

Full Story
Sanctioned MMA Fights Make South Dakota Debut

8/22/2014 9:55 PM

Twelve fights for the record books as fighters from across the country, and even some from South Dakota, enter the octagon in the state's first sa...

Full Story | Watch