Back to: News
July 02, 2013 05:08 PM

Iowa Counties Receive Federal Disaster Declaration

des moines, ia

President Barack Obama has issued a disaster declaration for 47 Iowa counties hit by recent storms and flooding.

Gov. Terry Branstad announced Tuesday that Obama had approved his request for a presidential declaration. The declaration means the counties will be eligible to receive federal funding for recovery efforts. Those funds could go to repairs, debris removal, loans for communities or grants to schools.

The counties covered by the declaration include Buena Vista, Clay, Delaware, Iowa, Linn, Sioux and Wright.

Branstad also said that as part of this declaration the state will receive funding to take steps to strengthen infrastructure and limit the impact of future natural disasters.

  • News
  • General

Keloland Live Doppler

Sioux Falls, SD - Change